Can You Shoot Over The Backboard?

Can you shoot an airball and get your own rebound?

“You can’t rebound your own airball!” Yes, you can.

It doesn’t matter whether your shot hits the rim, the backboard, or just air molecules — as long as its an intentional shot, you can be the first person to touch it on a rebound..

Can u catch your own airball?

Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag. The top and side of the backboard is not out of bounds, only the back-facing plane of the backboard is. Step-throughs are not traveling.

Can you goaltend your own shot?

Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag. The top and side of the backboard is not out of bounds, only the back-facing plane of the backboard is.

Can you block a 3 pointer?

1 Answer. This is called goaltending and is prohibited. In basketball, if you block a shot after it’s started descending, it is ruled to be goaltending and the basket is counted automatically.

Can you goaltend a dunk?

11: Basket Interference – Goaltending. EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket. …

What is it called when a person takes too many steps with the ball without bouncing it?

In basketball, traveling is a violation of the rules that occurs when a player holding the ball moves one or both their feet illegally. … When a player has taken more than 3 steps without the ball being dribbled, a traveling violation is called.

Can you shoot free throws off the backboard?

The easy and plain answer is that it is harder to make a free throw off the backboard than it is to shoot it like a free throw is normally shot. … If the ball hits the rim on that shot, chances are greater that the ball won’t go in compared to the softer shooting motion a regular free throw requires.

Are you allowed to jump on a free throw?

In addition, the shooter must release the ball within five seconds (ten seconds in the United States) and must not step on or over the free throw line until the ball touches the hoop. Players are, however, permitted to jump while attempting the free throw, provided they do not leave the designated area at any point.

It is legal to throw the ball off the backboard as a pass to yourself. The only time it is illegal is when attempting a free throw.

Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?

This is an example of a legal offensive move that is not a traveling violation. Upon gathering the ball, an offensive player may legally take two steps before he must release the ball on a pass or shot attempt. This is a legal continuation move and there is no traveling violation on this play. …

Can the ball hit the top of the backboard?

The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.

Can you fake a free throw?

The free throw shooter shall not purposely fake a free throw attempt. … If the free throw attempt is to remain in play, the opposing team shall inbound on either sideline at the free throw line extended. If the free throw attempt is not to remain in play, then play will continue from that point.